top of page

Three Things to Know about the Affiliations of

Calvary Episcopal Church



We are a member of the Episcopal Diocese of South Carolina











The Diocese of South Carolina was one of the nine dioceses which formed the national Church body known as the Episcopal Church, USA.  Our first congregation, St. Philip's, was formed in 1680 and the diocese was reconstituted after the American Revolution in 1785.  For a detailed history, please click on this LINK.   After a very painful separation over seemingly irreconcilable theological differences, we are excited about the future and our new Bishop Diocesan, The Rt. Rev. Ruth Woodliff-Stanley.  She was elected May 1, 2021 and ordained and consecrated on October 2, 2021. Bishop Ruth serves the Fifteenth Bishop of our diocese.   


 For more information about the Diocese of South Carolina, please click  HERE




We are Episcopalians




 The Episcopal Church welcomes all who worship Jesus Christ, in 111 dioceses and regional areas in 17 nations.

The Episcopal Church is a member province of the worldwide Anglican Communion.

The mission of the church, as stated in the Book of Common Prayer’s catechism (p. 855), is “to restore all people to unity with God and each other in Christ.”   As part of that mission, we’re following Jesus into loving, liberating and life-giving relationship with God, with each other and with the earth as the Episcopal branch of the Jesus Movement.  We seek every day to love God with our whole heart, mind and soul, and to love our neighbors as ourselves (Matthew 22:36-40).   For the Episcopal Church, the Jesus Movement calls us to focus on three specific Priorities:

Listen for Jesus’ movement in our lives and in the world. Give thanks. Proclaim and celebrate it! Invite the Spirit to do the rest.


Embody the loving, liberating, life-giving way of Jesus with each other.


Encounter and honor the face of God in creation.

For more information about the Episcopal Church, please click HERE.


Ang Comm.jfif

We are Members of the World-wide Anglican Communion


The Anglican Communion is a world-wide family of  Churches deriving from the Church of England.  The Anglican Communion is one of the world’s largest Christian communities. It has tens of millions of members in more than 165 countries around the globe. Anglicanism is one of the traditions or expressions of Christian faith. Others include Roman Catholicism, Eastern Orthodox, Lutheran and Baptist.  The Communion is organized into a series of provinces and extra-provincial areas.  The provinces are subdivided into dioceses, and the dioceses into parishes.  There are 41 provinces and, from March 2019, five extra-provincial areas.


 For More information about the Anglican Communion click HERE

bottom of page